About the Person

Ever again the press praises the finely distinguished, spiritualised play of the German pianist Tim Ovens. The culture of his touch, his distinct sense for sound, the ability to lend the softest tone as well as the biggest line life and tension, in short - to make music become language, these characteristics make the concerts of Tim Ovens to a very special experience.

Tim Ovens lives in Hanover, Germany, and Vienna, Austria. Born in Flensburg, Germany, Tim Ovens did study in the soloist and master classes of Hans Leygraf, Karl Engel, Kurt Bauer and Paul Badura-Skoda.

Tim Ovens did live in China from 1987 up to 1988 where he occupied himself intensely with Asian culture. In Peking, Shanghai and further cities, he gave numerous solo recitals, concertos with orchestra and concerts with chamber music. The most outstanding music colleges of China invited him to give piano courses and hold lectures.

In the course of his extensive international concert activity, Ovens did work together with a series of orchestras. He played for various broadcasting stations as well as for national and international television companies. He was a guest on various outstanding music festivals - the "Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival", "Dresdner Musikfestspiele", "Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele", the "Kissinger Sommer", and others. Besides there are numerous CD-recordings as soloist and with chamber music (Ars Musici, CordAria, Polygram Far East a.o.).

International concert tours in recent years led him besides European countries frequently to Japan, to South America, and again and again to China.

From 1989 to 2009 Tim Ovens taught at the University of Music and Drama in Hanover, Germany. Since 2009 he is regular professor of piano at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, Austria. Besides he works as a Visiting Professor at the China Conservatory of Music in Beijing, China. In 2010 he established the Vienna Academy of Music in China; he is the artistic director of the academy. Furthermore, he becomes invited regularly by international Conservatories of Music to give piano masterclasses (e.g. Poland, Greatbritain, Italy, Brazil, Japan ...).

The repertoire of Tim Ovens is widely spread and it contains all fields of the piano music. Emphases within this spectrum lay on the piano music from Schubert, Schumann, Debussy and John Cage. The treatment with the music of the 20th and the 21st century in their different alignments is for Tim Ovens ever challenge and therefore an important component of his musical work.

In addition to his soloistic performances Ovens is also engaged in chamber music and regularly gives concerts with different ensembles.

He has also composes and realises extensive sound installations, e.g. Wasserlaeufer, ...unterwegs..., Horae.

Download vita

To the top

Zur Person

Immer wieder wird in der Presse das fein nuancierte, verinnerlichte Spiel des deutschen Pianisten Tim Ovens gepriesen. Seine Anschlagskultur, sein ausgeprägter Klangsinn, die Fähigkeit, dem leisesten Ton wie auch der größten musikalischen Linie Leben und Spannung zu verleihen, kurz - die Musik Sprache werden zu lassen, diese Eigenschaften machen die Konzerte von Tim Ovens zu einem besonderen Erlebnis.

Tim Ovens lebt in Hannover und Wien. Der gebürtige Flensburger studierte in den Solisten- und Meisterklassen von Hans Leygraf, Karl Engel, Kurt Bauer und Paul Badura-Skoda.

1987 bis 1988 lebte Tim Ovens in China, wo er sich intensiv mit asiatischer Kultur beschäftigte. In Peking, Shanghai und weiteren Metropolen gab er eine Vielzahl von Soloabenden, Orchesterkonzerten und Kammermusikabenden. Die bedeutendsten Musikhochschulen Chinas luden ihn ein, Klaviermeisterkurse zu geben und Vorlesungen zu halten.

Im Laufe seiner umfangreichen internationalen Konzerttätigkeit hat Ovens mit zahlreichen Orchestern zusammengearbeitet. Er spielte für verschiedene Rundfunksender sowie nationale und internationale Fernsehanstalten. Bei bedeutenden Musikfestivals war er zu Gast - auf dem "Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival", den "Dresdner Musikfestspielen", "Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspielen", dem "Kissinger Sommer" und anderen. Außerdem liegen zahlreiche CD-Einspielungen als Solist und Kammermusikpartner vor (Ars Musici, CordAria, Polygram Far East u.a.).

Internationale Konzerttourneen führten ihn in den letzten Jahren neben europäischen Ländern unter anderem vielfach nach Japan, nach Südamerika und immer wieder nach China.

Von 1989 bis 2009 lehrte Tim Ovens an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hannover. Seit 2009 ist er Professor für Klavier an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien. Am China Conservatory of Music in Peking ist er als Visiting Professor tätig. Im Jahr 2010 gründete er in China die Vienna Academy of Music, deren künstlerischer Leiter er ist. Darüber hinaus wird er regelmäßig an internationale Musikhochschulen eingeladen, um Klaviermeisterkurse zu geben (z.B. Polen, Großbritannien, Italien, Brasilien, Japan ...).

Das Repertoire von Tim Ovens ist breitgefächert und umfasst sämtliche Bereiche der Klaviermusik. Schwerpunkte innerhalb dieses Spektrums bilden die Klaviermusik von Schubert, Schumann, Debussy und John Cage. Die Auseinandersetzung mit der Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts in ihren verschiedenen Ausrichtungen ist für Tim Ovens stete Herausforderung und wichtiger Bestandteil seines musikalischen Schaffens.

Neben seinen solistischen Auftritten ist Ovens auch kammermusikalisch engagiert und konzertiert regelmäßig in verschiedenen Ensembles.

Darüber hinaus hat er umfangreiche Klanginstallationen konzipiert und umgesetzt, z.B. Wasserläufer, ...unterwegs..., Horae.

Biographie zum Download

Zum Seitenanfang